Metaphysical books

IMG_20141206_122622

Physical books

Sometimes when I walk into a bookstore I get the overwhelming feeling that there is enough books in the world. Not enough stories, never enough stories! But enough mass produced copies of books that will only be read once.

Don’t get me wrong, I own all my favorite books in physical editions, but I often read them as ebooks first. And even though I would love to get my own books published traditionally, I think it is a bit stupid of me at the same time. Is traditional publishing the highest proof of success? Will the writers that are good enough to get their work traditionally published keep choosing that?

Being used to buying stuff from the internet and paying for ebooks and other non-tactile services like Spotify, Audible and Netflix, I am more than willing to pay for a good self published book. But while I often read ebooks, I find it hard to trust the quality of a self published book. I also find it difficult to discover new self published writers that are good.

I wonder how long it will be until that changes, because I think it will.

 

 

Leave a Reply

