Rejections

Writing desk Tuva tovslid

This months work place

I have had my manuscript rejected several times now.

It took some time to get past the disappointment of the last one. But after some hours of grumpiness I realized something: it is not the rejection of my work that gets me down.

I don’t suck and my writing doesn’t suck. At least I am fairly certain of that. The disappointment is not a result of hurt pride, it is a result of an opportunity lost.

The opportunity to share my work and the opportunity to get professional feedback and critique. That difference between hurt pride and lost opportunities actually motivates me to write. For every rejections comes as a result of an opportunity taken, and I choose to see an utilized opportunity as a small achievement in it self.

Leave a Reply

