Feedback

Tuva Tovslid edit

Planning

Yesterday I got my manuscript back from my sister, with notes. So many good pointers on character development and believable plot turns, and (rather rare when asking for critique) some compliments.

I find it hard to start edit a draft having already done my best to make it as good as possible. Knowing that I have to make a mess of it to improve it, makes it challenging to pick it up. It’s been close to seven weeks since I gave it to her, after all.

Some things makes it easier though. Spot-on critique is a great source of motivation. When I know how to make it better, it is difficult not to.

A soft start is another trick. I find it easy to get too technical in my planning, so I make time and space just to sit with the story and think freely, not pushing it in a given direction. It might actually be procrastination, but at least I enjoy myself while doing it.

So today I have only listened to music, made better and better lists of what I need to focus on for the next draft, drawn some horses and drunk som coffee. No actually writing, but easing into the story again and getting excited for the potential.

Leave a Reply

